search the planet


Last Updated


Winners announced for 2010 Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award


Publication date: May 2010

2010 ITBW Award


Oregon Ecotourism Conference hosts the 2010 Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award ceremony.

The Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award competition highlights the contribution of indigenous operators to biological and cultural diversity, and comprised applicants from 10 countries around the world (Australia, Bolivia, Canada, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mexico, Micronesia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Sweden). More than 400 people cast their vote, carefully examining all 14 websites that fit the ambitious criteria set on's wiki site Additionally, a jury composed of six internationally recognized experts in indigenous and sustainable tourism picked their choice using the same criteria.

Winners will receive technical support and access to a workshop on innovative Social Web tools for marketing and communications, facilitated by founder Ron Mader. A publication on the award, its nominees and winners and the lessons learned, will be distributed.


The winner of the judged 2010 Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award is Nutti Sami Siida, which features reindeer sled trips. Owners Nils Torbjörn Nutti and Carina Pingi are both Sami from Gabna Sameby, Sweden. The winner of the popular count 2010 ITBW Award is TIME Unlimited Tours from New Zealand, operated by the Maori-European couple Ceillhe Tewhare Teneti Hema Sperath and Néill Sperath, and providing personalised and interactive Auckland and Maori Indigenous Cultural Tours.


Brambuk National Park and Cultural Centre introduces visitors to the Grampians National Park (Gariwerd) in Victoria, Australia.

Kakadu Culture Camp is owned and operated by Fred and Jenny Hunter, Aboriginal people from Australia's Kakadu National Park.

Chalalan Ecolodge is 100% run and owned by the indigenous community in Bolivia.

Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre shares the cultures of two distinct indigenous cultures in a visionary partnership on shared traditional territories in Canada.

Te Urewera Treks strives to operate in a sustainable manner in accord with Maori principles and values in New Zealand.

Xe Pian National Protected Area features tours and accommodation owned and managed by local communities in Xe Pian NPA,southern Lao PDR.


The Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award is a collaborative effort between the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) and the leading ecotourism / responsible travel web portal with the generous support of the Heidehof Foundation. Plans are ongoing for an expanded 2012 award.

The award is aimed at private tourism services, owned and operated by indigenous and local communities embodying traditional lifestyles, and its main objectives are to motivate candidates to improve their online communication on biological and cultural diversity, to highlight their best practices in managing tourism and to raise operators and public awareness on biodiversity.

Winners were to receive the award in April 2010 at the Reisepavillon in Berlin, Germany. A cloud of volcanic ash got in the way!


reisepavillon 2010


Kurt Ackermann is a long-standing champion of responsible tourism, he has written RT standards for destinations, co-developed the sustainability action plan for the 2010 FIFA Soccer World Cup, completed World Bank-funded feasibility studies for RT product development by a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve, and helped launch a local cultural tour operator, among other projects. Kurt maintains his own blog Afrika T and lives in Cape Town, South Africa."

Sylvie Blangy is a European scholar who has worked with Canadian Inuit and Cree communities. She completed her PhD on Ecotourism, indigenous communities, land management and conservation of biodiversity and has published a guide book on Indigenous tourism in French.

Willie Gordon is a Nugal-warra story-keeper who keeps his ancestral rock art alive by sharing its stories with guests near Cooktown, Queensland. Winner of the juried 2009 ITBW Award, Willie runs Guurrbi Tours.

Deborah McLaren is a sustainable tourism consultant based in Minnesota where she assisted the start-up of a Journeys with First Nations Green Route initiative with tribal communities. She is the former director of Indigenous Tourism Rights International (ITRI), has served as a consultant with the UNDP, Government of Bhutan and several foundations.

Steven Schipani is Manager of the Ecotourism Spotlight Award winning Ecotourism Laos website. Steven also directs Sustainable Tourism Development Project in Laos.

John Scott is a descendant of the Iningai people of central Queensland, Australia (Barcaldine area) and since 2004 has served as the Programme Officer for Traditional Knowledge for the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity.


El haber participado me dejó una muy buéna experiencia misma que me servirá en el futuro para poder contender con un poco de mas conocimiento del medio. También es buéno reconocer a las empresas ganadoras: Nutti Sami Siida y Time Unlimited Tours, se lo merecían.
- Pedro Martínez


Last years' winners were:
Guurrbi Tours (Australia), run by Nugal-warra story-keeper Willie Gordon who keeps his ancestral rock art alive by sharing its stories with guests near Cooktown, Queensland.
Indigenous Trails (New Zealand) holds strategic alliances with other Maori tourism operators, providing cultural travel experiences that are out of reach for most visitors to Aotearoa.

itbw 2010
View more documents from ron mader.


g Indigenous
g Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award
g Native Notebook

ITBW Award @ Portland, Oregon


g World's Indigenous Peoples and Tourism Forum


g Indigenous
g ITBW Award 2010
g Indigenous
g Where's Portland?


g Indigenous
g Indigenous Tourism and Biodiversity Website Award
g Indigenous Voices
g Maori
g Sami


g ITBW 2010


g ITBW Playlist



Check out Ron's workshops and presentations.







Copyright © 1994-2013. All rights reserved by individual authors. Link Guidelines