home Africa Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

Photo: CIFOR, Granaries (Sindri) (Some rights reserved)

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa. It is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north, niger to the east, Benin to the southeast, Togo and Ghana to the south, and Côte d’Ivoire to the southwest. The capital is Ouagadougou.

Formerly called the Republic of Upper Volta, it was renamed in 1984 by President Thomas Sankara.

Google Maps

Soldiers seize power in Burkina Faso as global coup surge continues
Burkina Faso military confirms coup on national airwaves, dissolves transitional government
Burkina Faso military takes over in hostile coup
The African coup from central casting, circa 1980s


Landscape in Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso landscape

Burkina Faso


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.