home Europe The Great Spas of Europe

The Great Spas of Europe

Photo: Mariano Mantel, Colonnade, Mariánské Lázně (Some rights reserved)

Accepted in 2021 as a collaborative World Heritage Site nomination: the Great Spas of Europe are a group of 11 spa towns from 7 nation states nominated by UNESCO as a transnational series for inscription on the World Heritage List. Collaborating in this application are Austria, Belgium, Czechia, France, Germany, Italy, and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Hashtag: #greatspasofeurope

Key Links
Great Spas of Europe (11/08/2014) Germany
Great Spas of Europe (25/07/2014) United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Great Spas of Europe (11/07/2014) Austria
Great Spas of Europe (07/07/2014) France
Great Spas of Europe (01/07/2014) Italy
Great Spas of Europe (17/06/2014) Czechia


Each of these eleven spa towns developed between 1700 and the 1930s around natural mineral springs, which acted as the catalyst for an innovative model of spatial organisation dedicated to curative, therapeutic and social functions. These fashionable resorts of health, leisure and sociability created architectural prototypes and an urban typology that has no earlier parallel. They were pioneers of nascent modern tourism.

Elsewhere on the Web

Embedded Tweets

Inscription Tweets



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.