home 2017 World Tourism Awards 2017

World Tourism Awards 2017


The World Tourism Award, celebrating its 20th anniversary, was inaugurated in 1997 to “Recognize individuals, companies, organizations, destinations and attractions for outstanding initiatives related to the travel and tourism industry, and in fostering sustainable tourism and developing programs that give back to local communities.” It is presented by co-sponsors Corinthia Hotels, New York Times, United Airlines and Reed Travel Exhibitions. Peter Greenberg, CBS News Travel Editor will be Master of Ceremonies. The Award itself, Inspire, is specially designed and handcrafted by Mdina Glass on the Mediterranean Island of Malta.

The 2017 finalists were:

  • Chobe Game Lodge
  • Crystal Creek Meadows 
  • Grootbos
  • Green Tourism Business Scheme
  • Kumarakom
  • Ol Pejeta
  • Marine Dynamics
  • Sapa o Chau
  • Ljubljana
  • Transfrontier Parks Destinations
  • TUI Cruise
  • Village Ways 


How is the 2017 World Tourism Award different from the previous World Responsible Tourism Awards?

What are the relevant web pages?

How are nominations to be submitted for the 2018 Awards?

Why are the winners not announced before at the very start of World Travel Market so that the winners can make the most of networking?

Key Links


Also see

twitter: @RTAwards


Embedded Tweets


Reflections on Awards

World Travel Market 2017

World Responsible Tourism Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.