home USA Hawai’i


Photo: Eric Tessmer, Hanauma Bay (Some rights reserved)

Hawai’i is the southernmost state in the USA.

The Hawaiian Archipelago hosts eight national parks, two renowned World Heritage Sites: Papahānaumokuākea, a Marine National Monument and Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park, and an expansive Biosphere Reserve.

Also spelled: ‘Hawaii’

Google Maps

It is the only U.S. state located outside North America and the only island state.

The state encompasses nearly the entire Hawaiian archipelago, 137 islands spread over 1,500 miles.

The main Hawaiian Islands consist of eight volcanic islands that range in age from active lava flows on the east side of the Big Island to seven million-year-old Kauai. Coral reefs near urbanized areas, such as Honolulu, Wailuku, and Kahului, have experienced increasing stress from ever-increasing population and other pressures.

Six major islands: Hawai’i, Maui, Lāna’i, Moloka‘i, O’ahu and Kaua’i. The 9th island is considered to be Las Vegas.

Tip – Learn the local language! February is #HawaiianLanguageMonth or #MahinaOleloHawaii

How to pronounce Hawai’i



Parks and Monuments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.